Fortuitous Serendipity

Lately I’ve been thinking about Frank Herbert’s Dune.  I can’t believe I still haven’t read the ultimate science fiction masterpiece.  Last week I checked it out of the library but, overwhelmed that I’ve bitten off more than I could chew with what I’ve currently got open and bookmarked, took it back with a heavy heart this afternoon.  As I dropped off the book, I casually perused the used book cart nearby, seeing…an old paperback printing of Dune, in perfect condition and on sale for 25¢.  Recognizing the cosmos speaking to me when I hear it, I scrounged up the quarter and put Dune that much higher on my to-do list.

Life is good.

2 comments on “Fortuitous Serendipity

    • Argh! Thanks for building it up even more, Floyd! Sadly, I feel constrained by previous commitments on my “to-do” list, and doubt that I’ll get to it for another couple of months. Now the anxiety will kill me.

      …But if it’s half as good as I expect, it’ll totally be worth it.

Leave a comment