Should I Get a Motorcycle?

CON:

  • Church.  I use my car to give people rides to church and to other activities or meetings; not often, but sometimes.  I also take a young man in my ward around to collect fast offerings each month, and give rides to groups when we’re going to the temple or having an activity not at church for Mutual.  Not having those extra seats might make all that a lot harder.
  • Also church.  Will it compromise my ecclesiastical authority to show up at someone’s house for a ministry visit or to extend a calling if I’m on a Harley?
  • Family.  I don’t have the kids with me in the car too often, but it does happen.  If our family grows any more, or if we have friends along, we’ll need two vehicles to carry us all.  I don’t have occasion to use these extra seats very often, but it’s like living in Las Vegas in general: I rarely utilize 24 hour taco shop drive thrus, but it’s nice to know that the option is always there.  Also, would my wife want me to take her out on dates if she was riding on the back of a motorcycle, or would this mean that we’d always have to take her van? 
  • Transporting items.  I carry stuff around a lot more often than I carry people.  Going between work, church, and a ton of other places (especially the library!), my stash of cargo can get quite bulky.  On a motorcycle, I’d be forced to drastically reduce my load. 
  • Audio.  I like to listen to soft music or foreign language CDs in the car.  On a bike, that option is gone.
  • License Plate.  I suppose I’d have to give up my beloved “BKFMRMN” license plate.  I’m not sure it’s done any good, anyway.  *sigh*

PRO:

  • Passengers pliable.  I can work around transportation issues.  People can help with rides, sometimes a single person could ride on the back, or we could use two vehicles.  It might be slightly inconvenient at times, but it would work out. 
  • Audio overrated.  Honestly, I spend most of my driving time listening to talk radio, anyway.  I can do without it.
  • Money.  This would save a TON on insurance and gas.  If I’m smart, I could probably make a profit on trading my car in for a bike (it doesn’t have to be a Harley). 
  • I’m a guy.  It’s a motorcycle.  Dude.

Feedback?

11 comments on “Should I Get a Motorcycle?

  1. Pro: You would instantly be the coolest member of the bishopric.

    Con: I once saw a dog get trapped under the front wheel of a motorcycle in Tijuana. It fell on its side and skidded for about 30 feet. The people on it got a serious case of road rash, and the dog got up and ran around in circles before it presumably died, or became a zombie dog.

    Pro: You would finally have a reason to purchase an inexpensive MP3 player. I know you rail against tech, but I have Walden on my iPod touch. How’s THAT for a juxtaposition! I’m saving that for a future post (your attitude towards tech is one of our few divergent stances).

    Con: Get in a wreck in your car, you get hurt, get in a wreck on your hog, you die.

    Pro: If the whole family thing doesn’t work out, you could sell all your worldly possesions and travel across the land, doing odd jobs, teaching English grammar, and helping people Cain from-Kung-Fu style on your hog.

    Pro: Chicks dig cycles. Only important for the wife, but still.

    I think the answer is pretty obvious. And you don’t have to get a Harley? What are you, a communist?

  2. Absolutely not!!! We have also asked ourselves this question for Adam. It would save us TONS of money too. Adam had a motorcycle for many years before we got married and he would love to get back on one. It really come down to one thing for us, it’s just not safe. It’s SO not worth it!!!

  3. Thanks for the concern, friends.

    Pro: wife collects on massive life insurance policy and lives in style. Huston gets emotionally epic funeral. Wife plays the widow card and gets spoiled for life. Kids remember Dad as heroic tragedy. Huston doesn’t have to go to work anymore.

    That probably wasn’t a healthy joke, but sure was fun…

  4. Is this just a manifestation of a mid-life crisis? My friend recently bought a red, convertible Camero. Safer, etc.

  5. Floyd, I joked about this idea being a mid-life crisis but, considering that I’m only in my early 30’s, I certainly hope it isn’t! I can’t say that I care for what that implies about my total life span.

  6. con: upping the life insurance (you may be good, but you’re no match for a texting driver)

    pro: students think it’s cool (i have to show them my license to prove i have the endorsement!)

    ok, i haven’t slept for about a year-what is your license plate mean?

  7. Tidbitor, here’s the ultimate con: wife said no.

    My plate says “Book of Mormon.” Though a few people have also asked, it has yet to strike up any conversations on the subject, as I’d hoped it would. I do get the occasional weird look at red lights, but that’s about it.

  8. hahahaha-yep, understand about the ‘spouse card’-my hubby pulled it on me two summers ago, no bicycle riding while preggers :-(

    cute license-i saw one that was STRGZR-guess the guy was fed up with the questions, because the plate frame said ‘it’s stargazer!’

Leave a comment