Teaching Integrity

This was my thought yesterday after seeing a small group of stoner slacker kids commiserating over some new trauma in the back of my room as I was trying to start a lesson, and they reacted hostilely when I directed them to sit down:

“If you actively pursue a lifestyle that attracts drama, violence, and failure, don’t act surprised when your life is filled with drama, violence, and failure.”

And don’t expect sympathy.

I desperately want to communicate this lesson to my teenage charges, but there’s just no way to say it diplomatically enough–I’ve gotten in big trouble for saying far less harsh things.  Oh, well.  Anything I’ve ever said or done up until this point on the subject clearly hasn’t made a difference to them, anyway…

2 comments on “Teaching Integrity

  1. “If you actively pursue a lifestyle that attracts drama, violence, and failure, don’t act surprised when your life is filled with drama, violence, and failure.”

    Truth has a way of sticking to people. Especially the people who don’t want to hear it. I was one of those kids in the back of the classroom and it took me alot of hard years to figure out what you said. BUT all the truth that people spoke to me durring that time had a way of sticking. Even if I rejected it; even if I shot venom back at whoever was saying it. And one day when I realized my life wasn’t working anymore, like your students will inevitably realize, all those words came back to me. When I began to soul search, bits and pieces of truth people had said over the years I was sleeping began coming back. And it was that truth that comforted and helped me get through the pain of waking up. So, comuunicate away! Say all those things to your students that they don’t hear and seem like they will never hear. Say it as brutally honest as you can.

  2. Nicole, I know exactly what you mean. And thanks for the support–it’s always nice to hear positive feedback! :)

Leave a comment