Someone Wants Me To Read This Book

Two weeks ago, I browsed through the Sunday paper, which included an article reviewing Pat Conroy’s new book, My Reading Life.  It sounded good, so I put it on hold at the library.  I picked it up yesterday and read the first few chapters last night while my last class took their final exam. 

Conroy’s book is very good so far, partly because he writes so enthusiastically about his favorites, including Anthony Powell’s 12-volume series A Dance to the Music of Time.  It sounds like a beautiful glorification of British culture. 

That impressed me enough, but earlier today I checked in with my favorite literary blog, A Commonplace Blog, which I hadn’t looked at for a while.  The second entry down?  A note about A Dance to the Music of Time, the first volume of which is currently available free from the University of Chicago. 

In all my years of reading, I’d never even heard of these books until yesterday.  Now, I come across two references in less than 24 hours. 

OK, Universe, I get it.  I got the first volume.  We’ll see what all the fuss is about.

One comment on “Someone Wants Me To Read This Book

Leave a comment