Recommended Listening: This Amateur Artist on YouTube

Here’s how I came across this wonderful artist in Scotland: last month, I wrote a post that included a minor reference to the old song, “Angel of the Morning.”  I hadn’t heard it in a long time, so I looked it up on YouTube to give it a listen.  When I did so, I found an acoustic cover version.  I really enjoyed it, so I looked up other songs by this artist. 

Her work is amazing!  I’ve listened to several of these videos, and even the average ones are really good, and the best ones are excellent.  Why the heck doesn’t she have a recording contract? 

Her very best songs are the ones she does via remote collaboration with another musician, who’s also quite talented.  Their cover of The Cure’s “Just Like Heaven” is below as an example.  I also highly recommend their version of Alanis Morissette’s “Hand in My Pocket.” 

Two of her solo covers will suffice to highlight her skills here: “Angel of the Morning” and “Fake Plastic Trees.”  Her musical taste mostly runs to alternative, so her soulful, heartfelt covers should be a treat for anyone looking to hear their favorites from the 90’s again for the first time!

 

One comment on “Recommended Listening: This Amateur Artist on YouTube

  1. Excellent covers! Especially the Radiohead one. I usually hate Radiohead covers because it is so challenging to replicate both the arrangements and Thom Yorkes vocals, but this stripped down version is pretty good. Hopefully she doesn’t sell out anytime soon!

Leave a comment