I’ll Make This Simple: Homer = Democrats

I was amused when I saw a letter in Thursday’s Las Vegas Review-Journal comparing the Republican victories in the election to the episode of The Simpsons where Homer becomes sanitation manager.  My response was printed in today’s paper, reproduced below.  As I put it on Facebook, you think you can use The Simpsons to back up your liberal agenda?  Not on my watch, bub.

Letter writer Randall Buie argued against his own opinion on Thursday. He referenced the episode of “The Simpsons” where Homer becomes sanitation engineer and ruins the city.

Mr. Buie failed to mention how Homer won, or how he ruined the city. He won by capitalizing on people’s laziness, promising to provide every creature comfort he could think of. His campaign slogan was, “Can’t someone else do it?”

After the election, he wasted his department’s annual budget in weeks.

So Homer pandered to demands for entitlements and then bankrupted his administration. Mr. Buie, exactly which party did you think Homer represented again?

D’oh, indeed.

4 comments on “I’ll Make This Simple: Homer = Democrats

  1. Yet another righteous member seduced by the modern-day Gadianton robbers. (Helaman 6:31-41) Too bad.

    To quote another scripture, “first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.”

    Call me when you’re confident you’re own party is without sin.

  2. We disagree, therefore I’ve been seduced by evil? I make an analogy, but you don’t respond to it, you just call me to repentance? You criticize me by saying, without a hint of irony, that anyone who’s imperfect and criticizes others is wrong?

    This is the second post in two weeks to which you’ve replied with a mean, unfounded, and extreme insult. I expect such behavior from the anonymous, one-time trolls, but not from someone who should clearly know better.

    You have been blocked from further comment here, and will remain banned until you email an apology for your rudeness. This is my personal blog, and while I welcome intelligent disagreement and a variety of perspectives, I will not tolerate such repeated, sanctimonious bigotry.

    Goodbye, and good luck in all you do.

  3. Ahhhh, don’t pick on Brother Korihor, he’s doing the best he can what with that beam in his eye and all.

Leave a comment